Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo is a South Korean TV Drama that aired it’s first episode on November 16, 2016.

Starring Nam Joo-hyuk and Lee Sung-kyung as the leading roles, the drama revolves around sports athletes and their struggles and experiences to achieve their different dreams.

Kim Bok Joo (Lee Sung-kyung) is a talented female weightlifter. Her father and uncle own a chicken restaurant. *The main reason I’m writing this tid-bit is because the chicken always looked so good!!! It even inspired me to cook KFC, Korean Fried Chicken, for the first time!! 🙂 *

Jung Joon-Hyung is a very handsome *ahem ahem* swimmer who is also training in the same institute. Due to some traumatic incident, he experiences distress in every game just right before the race starts and thus, he starts to lag behind his colleagues, though being quite gifted in his field.

Their paths cross.

Realising that Bok Joo was his long lost childhood friend, he befriends her, leading both of them to a strange yet playful friendship.

Fate has yet another hand to play as their paths are crossed yet again when Joon Hyung learns that Bok Joo has a crush on his brother, Jung Jae-yi.

Being a tom-boy with hand calluses, Bok Joo is quite the inexperienced girl when it comes to such things. Thus, Joon Hyung, being the ever-so-helpful friend, gives her tips on how she can start a relationship with his brother.

But, fate yet again, seems to have different ideas as to how it should all play out.

*~*

A/N: So, after watching the drama, I’d say that it wasn’t the best of dramas per se… I didn’t quite like the female lead at the beginning. This may be due to the fact that all the roles I’ve seen Lee Sung-kyung act were either a jealous sister or a jealous ex-girlfriend or a jealous student (Cheese In The Trap, Doctors, etc…) So my opinion may be tainted. But, I did like her a bit towards the end, though!

I was quite surprised when I saw that the ratings for this drama were HECKA low.

Like, below-average low. 

I mean, it wasn’t that un-enjoyable. So yeah, I was shocked to the core when I saw the single digits.

But, being a soon-to-be college freshman myself, it made me feel excited about this new part of life and it also gave me a better perspective about it… lol

But all in all, I would rate it a 3.9 out of 5.

I definitely had some feels when watching certain episodes.

Add to that the off-screen romance as well!!! ❤

Watch it, yeah. It might not be for all but it certainly was for me 🙂

 

CAST:

Nam Joo-hyuk as Jung Joon-hyung

Lee Sung-kyung as Kim Bok-joo

Lee Jae-yoon as Jung Jae-yi

Kyung Soo-jin as Song Si-ho

Jo Hye-jung as Jung Nan-hee

Lee Joo-young as Lee Seon-ok

Jee Il-joo as Jo Tae-kwon

Leave a Reply

